Review: SOG Vulcan VL50-L Fixed Blade

So, here goes my first “review”. I thought about calling it “The SOG BLOG” but then decided that was kind of immature for my first review.. I’ve had my SOG Vulcan for close to two and a half years now. Its been used for work as well as a survival knife while camping and hiking in remote Alberta and British Columbia backcountry.

For the purpose of this review i will compare it to the specs of the Gerber Bear Grylls fine edge knife. I have not used this knife but will compare only the specs.

Theres no way of beating around the bush, priced at $242.25 the SOG is much more expensive than the Gerber at $62. However, for this you get a much higher quality metal, which will hold up to whatever you can put it through. Lengths being 5.3″ blade and 10.43″ on the SOG and 4.8″ blade and 10.0″ overall on the Gerber. Surprisingly the SOG weighs in at 8.4oz, which is less than the Gerber at 11.2oz. Both include a Lifetime Limited Warranty.

The knife is comfortable to hold, with the blade measuring in at 10.43″ it is a large knife. Its easy to remove from the sheath, and hasn’t fallen out, so the sheath must do a good job at holding the knife in. Made of VG-10 Metal(find the list of metal types here), it is made from Japanese stainless steel, but has cobalt and nickel added to improve wear and rust resistance as well as increased toughness and better edge stability. The only addition to the knife i would like is a stop at the end of the grip, I’m sometimes concerned about my hand slipping on the blade in adverse conditions.

Always being attached to my waist, the leather sheath has held up quite well for the amount of hiking and quadding I’ve done. The only complaint I have is the sheath wraps around the belt, and seems to move around between belt loops. Not much you can do about that, but I think if the sheath was a different material it wouldn’t move as much as it does.

Overall, I believe it depends greatly on what you need it for. I am constantly in remote backcountry with many large predators such as cougars, large grizzlies and wolves. I believe not carrying a gun this would be a last means of defense, and on a day to day basis serves as a good utility knife for making kindling  etc. while also serving as a good survival tool.

Mike

Leave a Reply

